Year: 2014

ALT晋升银级攀新高

十月初,ALT获得另一项里程碑式的专业认证资格。2014年10月10日,ATL将其在美国绿色建筑委员会(USGBC)的会员资格提升为银级。美国绿色建筑委员会作为全球建筑经济增长、社区发展、建筑创新的平台,ALT提升会员资格实为明智之举。这一资格提升不仅仅将为ALT带来更多的客户,更重要的是能够在LEED项目申报过程中为客户节省更多的费用。

ALT的这一举动,充分体现了企业的社会与环境责任感,致力于通过打造绿色建筑创造更好的未来。

乔•库里:幕墙的平衡与协调

2014上海CTBUH(世界高层都市建筑学会)

就在几个月之前,ALT创始人Joe Khoury与其团队编写了文章《幕墙的平衡与协调》,在上海CTBUH世界高层都市建筑学会引起了热烈反响。ALT代表Joe Khoury与Richard在繁忙的日常工作中准备了大会致辞,但最终成果让人十分满意。9月18日下午1点45分,Joe在上海金茂大厦的平安金融中心会议室内发表演讲,会议室人头攒动,连Joe都出乎意料。“想向Joe提问关于幕墙问题的提问者太多,以至于我都无法照相。”Richard自豪地告诉我们。听众挤满了会议厅,迫不及待地像听到Joe关于平安金融中心幕墙建造的经验。此次会议成为ALT展现专业经验绝佳的平台。我们收到了亚洲范围内众多新老业主的赞扬,着实可喜可贺。公司的众多员工都为此项目的最终成功做出了卓著的贡献:Richard Araw, 总经理Des Manlapaz, 设计副总裁Nancy Somera. 特别项目副总裁Butch Malabute及其团队,市场部团队,GM Andy Turnbull, Tony Zhang及Steve Strebel都为实现共同的目标付出了各自的努力,再次向ALT团队做出的卓越贡献致敬!

ALT出席达沃菲律宾结构工程师协会会议 – 议题:风荷载与地震荷载设计

2014年3月14-15日,ALT参加了于达沃举行的“风荷载与地震荷载设计研讨会”,为菲律宾幕墙行业的提升提出了宝贵的意见。会议由菲律宾结构工程师协会及菲律宾土木工程师协会达沃分会赞助,ALT的设计副总在Nancy Marie Somera作为公司代表出席会议,并发表演讲《高层建筑的幕墙设计》。

Nancy的演讲成功、充分地让现场听众了解到菲律宾高层建筑幕墙设计的精美与本质,陪同参与会议的公司市场营销部副总裁Tin Carlos提到,演讲收到了极大的成效,现场的新晋结构工程师与大多听众都因ALT的高度专业性表示赞许,Nancy介绍的基础结构分析更是备受现场听众欢迎。

会议的尾声,Nancy回答了一系列现场观众关于幕墙的疑问,并受菲律宾结构工程师协会之邀参加另外一场即将举行研讨会,同时也为ALT的2014年带来一个圆满的开端。

ALT大力支持工程创新大会

菲律宾大学(UP)的工程学院(COE)的Diliman校园活动于2014年3月1日达到了最高潮,作为始于2013年11月份、目前第八届的工程创新大会的庆祝活动。ALT作为工程创新大会的赞助方及评委参加了此活动,本次活动让工程专业学生有机会发挥产品创新能力、为日益变化的社会需求提供突破性解决方案。今年,共20组接触的工程专业学生在计算机、移动应用程序、概念新颖的纪念品、3D打印、节能灌溉系统等方面提出了广泛的思路。

过去的一个世纪中,菲律宾大学一直以培养高水平的各行业专业工程人才声名远扬。ALT自2012年起一直予以菲律宾大学工程学院极大的支持,因为ALT相信磨练年轻人的毅力,才能使其发挥最佳潜能,担当起国家建设、社会发展的重要责任。

教育的突破口

2014年2月26日,ALT作为马尼拉Ramon Magsaysay高中(RMHS)赞助方参加了马尼拉校友互助项目组织的主题为“Kinabukasan Mo Sagot Ko(为未来负责)”的高尔夫巡回赛,比赛在马尼拉帕赛市Villamor空军基地的Villamor高尔夫俱乐部举行。此次筹款活动的目的在于寻找原意资助RMHS高中的贫困优等生的赞助伙伴。此项目最初由8位高中学者组成,目前已成功地覆盖了中学与大学阶段。这个成立于2010年的非营利性组织目前资助31项高中奖学金及15项大学奖学金。

此次活动为ALT第二次对优质教育及贫困学生提供纸质,ALT坚持通过积极参与社会活动对提高社会生产力作出贡献,公司寄希望于此项目能够培养年轻、具备良好教育水平、专业的学生。2012年,公司资助了30项中学奖学金,并希望能够通过更多的此类社会活动为贫困的优秀学生带去受教育的机会,也希望此项目能够继续发展、壮大,为社会提供跟多的年轻、专业的工程人员。

Year: 2014

ALT climbs up a notch by going SILVER

October started with a bang as ALT added another milestone to its string of official recognitions. Just last October 10, 2014 ALT has upgraded its Organizational Membership Status with the USGBC to Silver Membership Level.

With USGBC being a global platform for business growth, community improvement and advancement in innovative building practices, it is only wise for ALT to jump at the first opportunity for better membership status. Naturally, along with this upgrade are a number of benefits which not only ALT can enjoy but its dear clients as well – most important of which are the substantial savings on LEED project registration and certification fees.

This undertaking is ALT’s way of acknowledging our social and environmental responsibility of being one with nature by adapting green building practices in our common pursuit of leaving a better greener earth to future generations.

“The Balancing Act of Curtainwall” by Joe Khoury

CTBUH Shanghai 2014
Future Cities: Towards Sustainable Vertical Urbanism
September 15-19, 2014

Barely a couple of months ago, our Joe Khoury and the rest of the team working with him on his paper, “The Balancing Act of Curtainwall”, for the highly anticipated CTBUH Conference in Shanghai were all hectic and abuzz; working doubly hard to ensure not just the paper but more so the presentation would leave a distinctive mark on the audience. CTBUH Shanghai 2014The weeks of juggling between regular work demands and putting in extra time and dedication to come up with an engaging presentation paid off more than a hundredfold as our representatives Joe and Richard came back to Manila post-conference, all smiles and beaming with pride. This is because, last September 18, at exactly 1:45pm, the Ping An Tower Room of the Jin Mao Conference Center was jam-packed as interested attendees jostled to have a spot in the hall. “It was fantastic.” Joe proclaimed of the turnout which he didn’t see coming. “I couldn’t take a good video or photo angle because the place was just too crowded with people eager to listen and ask our Joe questions about façade,” Richard proudly told us. The hall where Joe’s presentation was held was full to capacity as the attendees were literally rubbing each other’s elbows to partake of what Joe had to share on his expertise on curtainwall in relation to our work on the Ping-an Financial Center. The conference proved to be not only resources, but also time well spent as it paved another path for ALT to shine. We received a handful of requests and queries from clients old and new alike from all over Asia through the extensive network brought about by the success of Joe’s presentation which was truly heartwarming. The concerted effort between our main contributors Mr. Richard Araw and Mr. Joe Khoury ably supported by GM Des Manlapaz, VP for Design Nancy Somera, VP Special Projects Butch Malabute and his team, Marketing Team, GM Andy Turnbull, Tony Zhang and Steve Strebel reinforces the notion that there is strength in numbers and that sharing of ideas and knowledge for a common goal always translate to immeasurable gratification personally and professionally. Hats off to ALT for exceeding expectations yet again, cheers!

ALT Speakership Venture for ASEP Davao – Topic: “Wind and Earthquake Engineering”

The recently concluded seminar on “WIND & EARTHQUAKE ENGINEERING” which took place last March 14-15, 2014 at the Hotel Tropika, Lanang, Davao City proved to be a success in ALT’s marketing endeavors to promote speakership as a vital tool to “make noise” for the Philippine curtain wall industry. The event was sponsored by the Association of Structural Engineers of the Philippines (ASEP) and the Philippine Institute of Civil Engineers – Davao Chapter. ALT’s participation to the said event was through the speakership of our very own VP for Design, Engr. Nancy Marie Somera who tackled on the topic of “Façade Design of Tall Buildings.”

The topic discussed by Eng. Nancy duly sparked the interest of the audience which made us (ALT) successful in our objective of propagating the beauty and essence of the curtain wall industry in the Philippines. Tin Carlos, VP for Sales and Marketing of ALT who accompanied Engr. Nancy to the event beams as she recalls that, “It was truly an enlightening event especially for the new engineers and majority of the audience because our service is highly specialized. It was good that Nancy touched on Basic Structural Analysis which all the more kindled the curiosity of the audience. “

Needless to say the event ended with Engr. Nancy attending to a pleasant number of welcome queries from the very interested audience plus another speakership invitation from ASEP for their upcoming event. Judging from the successful outcome of this marketing venture we hope to yield better results for 2014 for ALT.

ALT Supports up and coming ICONs

The College of Engineering (COE) of the University of the Philippines (UP) Diliman campus held its culminating activity last March 1, 2014, in celebration of its 8th Engineering Innovation Congress, which kicked-off in November 2013. ALT took part in the celebration as one of the sponsors and judge in the Engineering Icon Competition, an avenue for engineering students to showcase their talents in inventing products, processes and breakthrough solutions that would respond to the ever changing needs of the society. This year, 20 groups of young, exceptional engineering students pitched-in a wide range of ideas varying from computer and mobile applications to novelty souvenirs, distilling process to 3D printing, irrigation system to energy conversion, and a lot more.

Over the past century, the UP College of Engineering has been known to produce quality professionals in the various fields of engineering. Since 2012, the company has been a strong supporter of the University’s College of Engineering. ALT believes that by honing young minds to its optimum potential, we participate in nation building, and with it promote social accountability and responsible behavior.

A Hole for Education

Last February 26, 2014, ALT participated as one of the sponsors of Ramon Magsaysay High School (RMHS) Manila, Inc.’s 2014 Alumni Tree Project Golf Tournament with the theme: “Kinabukasan Mo… Sagot Ko” in Villamor Golf Club, Villamor Airbase, Pasay City. This fundraising event seeks partner-sponsors that would support underprivileged but deserving students of Ramon Magsaysay High School (RMHS). Initially, the program started with a batch consisting of eight (8) high school scholars. The success of its launch has now enabled them to sponsor in both the secondary and tertiary levels. This non-profit organization, which was established in 2010, is currently supporting 31 high school scholars and 15 collegiate scholars.

This is the second time ALT has shown support poverty and good education, ALT aspires for a better and more productive community through active participation in social initiatives. ALT has high hopes in the program’s continued success in producing young, educated, promising professionals who will contribute to the betterment of the society to the program. In 2012, the company helped support 30 scholars in the secondary level. With a vision of bridging the gap between poverty and good education, ALT aspires for a better and more productive community through active participation in social initiatives. ALT has high hopes in the program’s continued success in producing young, educated, promising professionals who will contribute to the betterment of the society.